RSS Feed (xml)

February 20, 2008


THE GREAT TREATISE on the STAGES OF THE PATH TO ENLIGHTENMENT by The Lamrin Chenmo Translation Committee

About this book – The Great Treatise on the Stages of the Path to Enlightenment (Lam rim Chen mo) is one of the brightest jewels in the world’s treasury of scared literature. The author, Tsong-kha-pa (1937-1419), completed this masterpiece in 1402 and it soon because one of the most renowned works of spiritual practice and philosophy in the world of Tibetan Buddhism. Tsong-kha-pa took great pains to base his incisive insights on the classical Indian Buddhist literature, illustrating his point with classical citations as well as with sayings of the masters of the earlier Kadampa tradition. In this way the text demonstrates clearly how Tibetan Buddhism carefully preserved and developed the Indian Buddhist Tradition.

Tsong-kha-pa’s text has continued to be essential for any student of Buddhist thought who wants to put the teachings into practice. Because it condense all the exoteric sutra scriptures into a meditation manual that is easy to understand, scholars and practitioners have for centuries relied on its authoritative presentation as a gateway leading to full understanding of the Buddha’s teachings.

The Great Treatise is now translated in its entirety in three volumes, the heart of the Great Treatise, covers the spirit of enlightenment (bodhicitta; byang chub kyi sems) and the deeds of the bodhisattvas, the great beings whose deeds are motivated by this altruistic spirit.


Volume 1


The Greatness of the Teachings

How to Listen to and Explain the Teachings

Relying on the Teacher

The Meditation Session

Refuting Misconceptions About Meditation

A Human Life of Leisure and Opportunity

The Three Types of Persons

Mindfulness of Death

Reflecting on Your Future Life

Going for Refuge to the Three Jewels

The Precepts of Refuge

The General Characteristics of Karma

The Varieties of Karma

Cultivating Ethical Behavior

The Attitude of a Person of Small Capacity

The Eight Types of Suffering

The Six Types of Suffering

Further Meditation on Suffering

The Origin of Suffering

The Twelve Factors of Dependent-Arising

The Attitude of a Person of Medium Capacity

Ascertaining the Nature of the Path Leading to Liberation

The Nature of the Three Trainings

Volume 2

The Stages of the Path for Persons of Great Capacity

Compassion, the Entrance to the Mahayana

The Seven Causes-and Effect Personal Instructions

Exchanging Self and Other

The Ritual for Adopting the Spirit of Enlightenment

Maintaining the Spirit of Enlightenment

An Introduction to the Six Perfections

Training in the Mahayana; Precepts and Perfections

The Perfection of Generosity

How to Give

The Perfection of Ethical Discipline

The Perfection of Patience

The Perfection of Joyous Perseverance

The Perfection of Meditative Stabilization and Wisdom

Helping Others to Mature: The Four Ways to Gather Disciples

Volume 3

Part One Meditative Serenity

Serenity and Insight

Preparing for Meditative Serenity

Focusing Your Mind

Dealing with Laxity and Excitement

Attaining Serenity

Serenity as Part of the Path

Part Two Insight

Why Insight Is Needed

Relying on Definitive Sources

The Stages of Entry into Reality

Misidentifying the Object to Be Negated

Dependent-Arising and Emptiness

Rational Analysis

Valid Establishment

Conventional Existence

Production Is Not Refuted

Not Negating Enough

The Actual Object to Be Negated

Misinterpretations of the Svatantrika/Prasangika Distinction

Refuting Misinterpretations of the Svatantrika/Prasangika Distinction

Our Interpretation of the Svatantrika/Prasangika Distinction

Our Critique of Svatantrika Does Not Hurt Our Own Argument

Analyzing a Chariot

The Person Lacks Intrinsic Nature

Objects Lack Intrinsic Nature

Insight Requires Analysis

Uniting Insight and Serenity

Summary and Conclusion


This section is STRICTLY not for commercial purpose but for the purpose of sharing with students and friends of Geshe Tenzin Zopa worldwide.

Write up “About this book” and “Contents” extracted from the book itself.

Photography / Design by Belinda Chong